Honeymoon

I went on a honeymoon. Wow.

I promise that I will not begin every post this way. But I’ve had a lot of moments like this lately. Most recently: I went on a honeymoon. Wow.

Our first flight left at 6 a.m. I don’t think it’s ever been more worth it to wake up that early. During our layover, we had brunch at Bad Daddy’s Burger’s in Charlotte. A woman in a gray sweater and glasses blessed us by buying our lunch.

Then we headed to the island. My first time out of the U.S. and our 3 hour flight took nearly 6 hours. Thanks to strong tailwinds in St. Thomas, we landed in San Juan, Puerto Rico. I can’t be certain (because we didn’t get off the plane), but I believe it is a beautiful place.

The view from our room

When we got to St. Thomas it was dark, but Sugar Bay Resort and Spa was fabulous. The foyer had a grand staircase and lovely chandeliers. We were upgraded to a bay view room. We could see the beach, beautiful blue water, and picturesque mountains from our patio. The food was delicious. I got to sing karaoke while enjoying tropical drinks. We fed iguanas. Played giant Jenga. Laid in a hammock. And played monopoly on the patio while it rained. But the best part?

Spending time – uninterrupted – with my new husband.

One night we sat at dinner and talked for over 3 hours. Face-to-face. Heart-to-heart. I can’t imagine it gets any better than that. They tell me that it does, but I can’t see it right now.

God is so amazing. There I was sitting in paradise. And I was in total awe of my husband.

Have you ever had a moment like that? I’d love for you to share it with me.

Leave a Reply

