Stay-at-home Moms: My Thoughts

I did not sit down at my computer to rant, but I’m a little bothered by something (and it’s not politics). It greatly upsets me when I see those little cartoons that demean stay-at-home moms. I am not a mom. I do not stay home (although I would like to many days). I work outside of my home and the only people I have to take care of on a daily basis are my husband and myself.

That doesn’t change anything! It still makes me angry! I want to yell at the cartoon and find the person who made it just to have a sit down chat about what I’ve seen in the stay-at-home mothers that I know.

One of my best friends and her son

I’ve seen women who are teaching their children values, life lessons, and ABC’s. I see women who have big messes and no time to clean. I watch women give up things to concentrate on the most important relationships in their lives. I’ve seen women who get up early in the morning and go to bed late at night just to have a few minutes of free time. The laundry is never done. The house is difficult to keep clean. They still manage to pray for and mentor others and go on family trips and write blogs and books! I’ve seen them homeschool and cook meals and open their homes to others. I’ve watched them work harder in a day then I do in a week for less gratitude and no money. Their work affects other people’s lives forever. Their work changes the world. Their work makes more of a difference than most. Yet people have the audacity to undermine them.

This is not to say that there is anything wrong with working outside of the home. Leave your kids at daycare and go to work. Come home and try to clean and cook and somehow not miss out on teaching your kids and learning about their lives before they go to bed. This is a completely legitimate way of living; often staying home isn’t even an option. I get that. Just be kind to those who choose to do it differently. Be kind and support those who have given up their careers to serve their husbands and children with their whole lives.

I hope one day that our family will be blessed in a way that would allow me to stay home with my children. To teach them to “love up and love out” (a phrase that I have stolen from my friend Lara) in each moment while they are still small.

Praying for stay-at-home moms today. I admire you.

Leave a Reply

