The One Where I was Afraid

Tonight I found myself staring in the face of fear. I didn’t know what to do! It’s unfortunate because just this morning I read a post by a friend about fear. About how it implies that we don’t trust God. Like somehow God is untrustworthy. As if that is even possible!

That means that the problem is with me. With us. The problem is (and I take no credit for this insight) that we are believing a lie. If fear exists, then we must speak Truth into it. That’s why we are encouraged to hide His Word in our hearts (see Psalm 119:11). That’s why we need to be spending time with Him daily. Otherwise, how do we know the Truth from the lie? How do we know when we are falling into a trap that is headed to destruction?

Our feelings are unreliable. Our hearts are deceitful above all things and desperately wicked (Jeremiah 17:9). Why would we follow it? Why would we believe it? Why would I let this feeling of fear because I have no control and I have no idea what is going to happen keep me from trusting the One Who has proven Himself to be faithful beyond my imagination? Why would I not, instead, cling to Him? Hold on to His promises and remember His faithfulness?

As I type, I can feel myself calming. My fear subsiding, although not disappearing. His Truth is coming to my mind and I’m reminded of a verse that I took the time to memorize a few years ago.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Joshua 1:9

He is with me always. Wherever I go. Even into this place that I’ve never been. Even when I can’t see what will happen – He does. He knows. He is already there – working things out for my good (Romans 8:28). I am going to rest tonight. Rest knowing this Truth. Rest knowing that I am not alone. That I don’t need to trust my feelings, because I can trust my Lord.

Leave a Reply

