Pumpkin Puddin’

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I love pumpkin! (Insert awkward pity laugh here). I also love food blogs! More than food blogs, I love dessert blogs! (Don’t judge me). I used to bake all the time. Baking and making dessert was therapeutic for me. For my friend’s son’s birthday I once make a Spongebob cake!  The stress of it all made me de-stress somehow.

Wednesday night we had a Thanksgiving dinner of sorts with some of our high school friends from Young Life. I volunteered to be in charge of the food. How to make a dinner for people and not serve dessert is something that I have not quite figured out. So, to the Pinterest board I went!

Mostly I looked a pictures, but I did click on a few recipes for inspiration. After reading and thinking, I opted for a banana pudding of sorts without the bananas, but adding the pumpkin! And adding the whipped topping! Yum!

A few things before we enlist on this dessert journey:

I often don’t follow recipes. Instead, I look at a bunch of different recipes then make it up as I go. Hopefully this will be an inspiration to you more than anything.

I don’t measure. If I’m actually following a recipe I do, but otherwise I just guess and check. Add spice. Taste. Add spice. Taste.

Have fun. What is the point of being in the kitchen making deliciousness if you aren’t even going to enjoy it?! I say, just go for it, even if the first two points threw you for a loop! Put on some music and dance around the kitchen while you make a yummy mess!

I love making things from scratch! However, this was not one of those times (I said this once before during this post, but don’t judge me). I don’t know much about pudding and so I figured it best to stick to what I know.

It began with three small boxes of vanilla pudding mix. Six cups of milk were added to the mix. I whisked it by hand, but you could use a mixer.

While the pudding set, I crunched up graham crackers. You can buy crushed graham crackers in a box, but it is cheaper (and I like cheaper) to buy the graham crackers and then crush them. I started to do it by hand, but my man suggested that I use the meat tenderizer. Brilliant idea. A food processor would have been faster (but who wants to clean that out just for a few graham crackers?).

I added a large can of pumpkin puree to the pudding. Having never roasted a pumpkin myself, I always use the canned kind. However, if you are handy with the pumpkin, this could be a time for you to shine and to share your shine with little ol’ me! I’m serious. Share it.

Then came the spices. Pumpkin pie spice. Cinnamon. Cinnamon sugar mix. Add. Taste. Add. Taste. Add. Make the husband taste. Yum!

Now it’s time for layering! I love when dessert is pretty. Isn’t it supposed to be? Crushed graham crackers. Pudding. Whipped topping (like Cool Whip – I used 16 oz. bowl). Then again. Crushed graham crackers. Pudding. Whipped topping.

I topped it with crushed graham cracker because it’s pretty and so that the whipped topping wouldn’t stick to the foil when it was time to transport it.

And there she is! Tonight’s deliciousness! They loved it! (FYI: the bowl is from Ikea).

Pumpkin Puddin’

Leave a Reply

