From Bed, Bath, and Beyond to Abortion

I’m not sure how it happened. It was one of those “and one thing led to another” moments – I can’t explain what happened in the middle.

I got online to to look at bathroom rugs on the Bed, Bath, and Beyond website. It was supposed to be a few minutes of my life that would save me time when I got to the store. A deep red rug to bring out the little bit of red in my shower curtain. So simple!

And then…

I got on Facebook – I think. I’m not completely certain. However, I know that I clicked on something, got sidetracked, and ended up reading an article about the connection between Planned Parenthood and Susan G. Komen and the connection between birth control and abortion and breast cancer.

By the end of it, I had not chosen my bath rug, but I had worked up a decent amount of stress about my chances of getting breast cancer.

Seriously?!?!?! How did that even happen?!?!

My bathroom with the new bath mat

The crazy thing is, I think this happens more often than I’d usually notice. I wake up and have a great time with Jesus. I go into work thinking about how the Lord is faithful and amazing. And then I get sidetracked.

Not sure how or when it happens, but suddenly my mind is being occupied by how much money we don’t have, all the things that must get done that day, and I’m dying again.

It might not be cancer, but it works like one. It grows and works it’s way through my brain and into my mood and upsets my perspective. Instead of keeping my eyes on Him and remembering Truth, I’m suddenly occupied by all these thoughts that never should have been there in the first place!

Maybe you have no idea what I’m talking about. Maybe your mind doesn’t wander, you don’t get sidetracked, and anxiety doesn’t ruin your good. I pray that never changes.

However, if you are like me and you understand, I pray that you and I would learn to keep our eyes fixed on our Savior. Fixed. That we would not get sidetracked by all the other stuff. That we wouldn’t allow the distractions of the world or the things we can’t control have any space in our minds. But instead we would trust – trust – our Heavenly Father completely.

Leave a Reply

