Talk Talk Talk

I should stop talking. Maybe not forever, because sometimes I have something insightful to say. Even wise. Sometimes.

It’s not as often as I let my mouth run off and talk about whatever. It’s not always bad. I’m not a big bad-mouther anymore. Cursing isn’t my thing and I hate yelling. At a football game? Sure. At your friend? Spouse? Sibling? Parent? No! Definitely not. (I’ve yelled. I’m sure I’ll yell again, but I hate it).

Not my purpose. I ramble. I love sidebars and little inserts into a thought that are unexpected but give a little insight into my mind. There are times when I just wait for my turn to speak. Was I listening? No. I was waiting for my turn to talk. That’s a bad habit. It’s bad and it needs to be released!

Exactly

Exactly

How can I love well if I don’t listen well? How can I be shoulder-to-shoulder with my husband if I never shut up? He comes face-to-face with me. He listens and responds. I talk through our activities most of the time. It’s not always a bad thing, but it isn’t always good. Why do I feel the need to fill the quiet? Isn’t God’s voice quiet? And still? How can I hear it if I never stop talking?

One last thought. A friend of mine said that before anything comes out of your mouth it should go through three gates:

1. Is it true?

2. Is it kind?

3. Is it necessary?

That third gate is where I fail most of the time. Take the time to consider that this week. Consider not talking. Consider listening to others. Listening to God. Only saying what is true and kind and necessary and see how people respond. Then, if you remember or care to, let me know how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Talk Talk Talk

Leave a Reply

