New Year’s Goals

I’m not really into resolutions. I know, it sounds like I’m trying really hard not to “follow the crowd” or whatever. But that’s not it. I’m not against them, I’m just not really into them. Most people (myself included) are not resolute or disciplined enough to keep them! Every year I go to the grocery store at the beginning of January and attempt to buy frozen spinach (because I love it) and all the new year’s resolution people have taken it all!

I am not bitter.

I am just pointing out that by mid-February the frozen veggie stock is exactly the same. This year, I decided (it wasn’t really a resolution, just a decision) that I wanted to be healthier. So, that’s what I did. I began to exercise and eat clean and my headaches became less frequent, I had more energy, and felt overall better!

Then our Young Life Area Director spoke with us about discipline. That spoke volumes to me and it encouraged me to not only follow through with my new healthy lifestyle, but also to be more consistent in my relationship with Christ. I heard someone say that discipline is freeing. Know what? It is. I felt more free and alive and full than I have just doing whatever whenever and not having any discipline in these areas.

So, that brings me to 2013. Having learned discipline (and relearned and relearned) what can I do now that I couldn’t or wouldn’t do before? How has this affected my future? Well, it as led me this new year to make some goals for myself. Not resolutions necessarily, because most of them have specific endpoints.

I have decided to make three goals (some being longer than others). I have a plan to reach those goals and a date by which to reach them. My husband is making goals and we have goals as a couple. I encourage you to consider doing the same. I think that our success rate will be much higher.

Leave a Reply

