Hello, 2013

Hello, 2013!

Welcome! It’s so nice to see you! Some people didn’t think that you’d make it, but I knew better. Not that tomorrow is promised, but because I couldn’t understand their reasons. I knew that if God wanted to gift me with you, that He would. Some people didn’t make it to you. So many reasons why they didn’t. So many reasons that I can’t understand. I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t know what to pray. Tears were shed. Ugly words were spoken. Giving in to fear was just easier sometimes. But God poured out His grace in the midst of it all. And here we are.

You know, 2012 wasn’t all that we had expected. We made resolutions that weren’t kept. We cried when we should have laughed. Words came out of our mouths that shouldn’t have even been in our heads. But it was not all bad. We laughed. We praised. We sang. We traveled. We got married. We looked fear in the face and we spoke Truth to it! We grew (and I shrank – over 20 lbs). It was a good time, but I’m glad to have you here.

2013, I’m interested to see what you hold. In the blessings that are in store, the lessons I’ll learn, the people I’ll meet. I’m trying not to consider the things that I fear. I’m leaving the fears at the foot of the cross and not giving them any control in my decision-making. I’m looking at 2013 as the year that I read. Sing. Dance. Praise. Worship. Learn. Obey. Obey. Trust. I’m certain there’s more. I’m certain that I’m not seeing the big picture, because it’s too early, but that’s okay. Today, I look forward. Not too far. I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I want to enjoy right now, but I am filled with a hope that does not disappoint.

2013, let’s do this.

Sincerely,

JaQuinn

Leave a Reply

