Treasured Moments

One of my favorite things about being married is having my husband around to talk. Often we listen to controversial talk radio then chat – sometimes debate – about what we heard.

At bedtime, we lay in bed reading our books (or doing my crossword) and de-stress. We chat about what happened in our day and anything that happens to be on our minds. We share secrets. Secrets that only the two of us will know. Secrets that aren’t necessarily deep, but ours all the same. They are special because they belong to the two of us.

A special moment

A special moment

I treasure those moments because they bring us closer. They create intimacy. Moments like these are face-time with my best friend. It’s easy to love. It’s easy to respect him. In those moments it’s easy to show Jesus because I’m completely invested. My attention, my energy, my time is being spent wholly on him. And he on me. If someone starts talking, the other stops reading. We make eye contact. We respond in a way that let’s the other person know we did not only hear, but were listening.

It’s a sweet time. One that I’m certain will continue to evolve as the years continue. I don’t want to miss these moments. I want to keep them. Remember them. Treasure them.

Leave a Reply

