Hello Mornings

Good morning.

It’s morning as I write this but I realize that it may not be morning as you read it. I’m sitting in the place that I spend my mornings – the left side of my sofa. Listening to the sound of raindrops outside and looking at my yellow tea cup next to me, I relax. In this place, I get ready for my day. I open up my Bible and prepare to have time alone with my Father and Savior. My teal Bible with little engraved flowers flowing down one side sits next to my large green and white journal full of prayers and hopes that I’ve cried out to God along with the Truths and promises and commands that He has shown me over the past year.

2013-01-17_08-37-44_856

My yellow tea cup and ducky infuser

Mornings are a sweet time. It’s still quiet. Light is just starting to shine through the window. The long to-do list hasn’t begun to stress me out. All the daily life worries are still asleep. If they creep up, I lay them at His feet. Immediately. Because it’s still morning. It’s still quiet. There’s still time to start the day off right.

It’s a sweet time but it takes discipline. Sometimes it’s just easier to sleep an extra hour. But getting up is so much better. The Hello Mornings Bible Study has helped me to do this. It’s a 13-week challenge to maximize your mornings, via online accountability groups. The summer session begins May 6th and goes until August 2nd. Registration is open until Friday, May 3rd. Perfection is not a requirement. Just a desire to meet with God in the morning and a commitment to checking in with your group. There is also a free Bible study for all HelloMornings participants: Meet Jesus, a walk through John.

Im-Maximizing-My-Mornings-300

This will be my second time going through HelloMornings. The groups are encouraging and provide accountability. There’s something about knowing that thousands of women all over the world are up with you, getting ready for their day by spending time with their Father.

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Lamentations 3:22-23

2 thoughts on “Hello Mornings

  1. Oh, how we love his new mercies everyday! I can almost picture your quiet spot as I read your post. This will be my second time through, too. Like you said the extra hour is tempting, but getting up is so much better. God bless you as you continue to seek him in the morning.

Leave a Reply

