I Am Not A Feminist

If the year was 1925 and I were a white woman, I would probably be a feminist. I would be marching in the streets trying to get my right to vote. I would probably stand up for women to be treated equally to men and my husband would probably be standing right by me. In total agreement.

The year is 2013. Feminism is no longer about being treated well and seen as an equal in the eyes of the government or society. It isn’t about getting the right to vote or not being beaten by our husbands or allowed to work outside of the home. Now it’s in the name of “women’s rights” that we allow millions of babies to be aborted. It’s in the name of “women’s rights” that we counsel women to leave their husbands when they can’t agree on whether or not she should stay home when they have kids.

I can’t say that represents where I stand at all. My Lord tells me that I am to submit to my husband. That command is to me, not to him. It is for me to choose to put myself under him so that I can encourage, lift, and help him. Jesus spoke to women. He valued them highly enough that it made many men uncomfortable. The Word tells men to love their wives like Christ loves the church and to lay down his life for her. Why would God tell men to love their wives like that if women were inconsequential? We have purpose. We have overlapping and individual purposes.

God created us on purpose and with purpose. That purpose is not to beat down men or raise ourselves above them. It’s not to pretend that men and women are exactly the same. Our differences are good and should be celebrated. It’s not to do what he has called men to do or not to do what he has called us to do. This isn’t about personality or preference. I’ve decided – as much as my opinion on the issue matters – that what the Bible says about it is what I will thrive for. It’s okay if it makes people uncomfortable or angry. It’s okay if someone tells me that I’m setting women back. I love my Lord and my husband too much to ignore this command.

“Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord.” Ephesians 5:22

One thought on “I Am Not A Feminist

Leave a Reply

