Like a tree planted by the water

I wanted to spend this labor day writing and writing. I hate that I haven’t been blogging as much as when I first began it. My plan was ruined by too many thoughts. Go figure. As I sit here not writing, I’m listening to a song that I’ve had on repeat for almost two weeks. She says, “I am planted by the rivers, by Your streams of living water. And I’ll grow up strong and beautiful, all for your splendor, Lord.” It’s so beautiful! It puts to song the verses in Jeremiah that says,

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

Trees planted by water

If I were the tattoo type, I might get a tree (just branches) on my wrist as a reminder. If I were a good painter, I might paint this on canvas and put it somewhere that I could see everyday.

These trees are strong. They are sturdy. They do not wither. They do not wilt. I pray that I would be like this tree. That my roots would be deep in Him.

Enjoy the song. For Your Splendor by Christy Nockels

 

Leave a Reply

