because it matters what you think

I have many bad habits. One of them is concentrating on things that I don’t want. I sit around and think about how I don’t want children – yet. My mind wanders from there into how I don’t want to be stuck in a job that I hate. I don’t want the things that I’m most afraid of like *insert your own personal fears here* to come true.

What do I do with these things that I don’t want? I obsess over them. I go over them over and over and over again in my head. My friends and I talk about things in the negative often. A wise woman told me – many times – not to concentrate on what I don’t want, but what I want. She says that whatever I’m concentrating on all the time is what will most likely happen.

Don’t get me wrong here. I understand that some things are out of my control. I know that my thoughts will not control  my surroundings. That many circumstances are out of my control. As much as is up to me though, I should do well.

Philippians 48

These are the things that I should be thinking about. Instead of fear, truth. Instead of trash, things that are honorable. Instead of the ugliness, the lovely. Marital fears are real. They are even sometimes warranted. But many, many times (I don’t have the exact number but I can look it up if you need it) we are told in the Word not to fear. Do not fear. Do not be afraid.

So, friend, do not be fear. Do not be afraid. Instead, think of good, lovely, commendable, excellent things. Think about what you want instead of what you don’t want. Think about what is true. 

What are some things that you should be thinking about?

Leave a Reply

