respecting my husband with my time

I pride myself on my reliability. If I say that I’m going to be somewhere at a certain time, I’m there (although sometimes a few minutes late). But if I make a plan, I live in that plan. If I don’t feel like going, I go. If I’m tired, I show up. If something big comes up, I – at the very least – call or text someone and let them know so that they are not shocked and I remain reliable and not flaky and all the other things that are important to me!

Respect - time

Given this information, you’d be shocked to learn that there is one person that I have been consistently unreliable with: my husband. Ugh. He gets the short end of my priority and the leftovers of my time. Not always, but more than I am proud of.

Why does this happen? There are many reasons, I’m sure. But none of them are good. None of them make it okay.

“…let the wife see that she respects her  husband.” Ephesians 5:33b

Well, there’s a not so subtle command. Notice that it doesn’t say, “let the wife consider respecting her husband when her schedule allows.” I know too many women who are like me. We fill our schedules. Follow them to the second. Then our husbands get tired, leftover wives at the end of the day. Our priorities need to change. My priorities need to change.

God’s commands to us are for our good. Some are easier than others, but all are possible when we are following him. God gives us many opportunities to glorify him in our relationships, here is one way: respecting our husbands with our time.

My first step in respecting my husband with my time is to be home when I say that I will be home. What’s one way that you can respect your husband with your time?

Leave a Reply

