respecting my husband with the “s” word

On Monday I wrote about respecting my  husband with my time. That post made me think about all the ways I need to respect my husband. It’s not just with my time, but in everything. I was inspired. With that inspiration I decided that now would be a great time to evaluate the topic of respecting my husband.

I started with time, but now let’s talk about the “s” word. So many people don’t like talking about it, but it’s a vital part of marriage. Our husbands have a big calling. They are called to lead us and our (not my, but your if you have them) children and love us like Jesus, willing to lay down their lives for us. Whew! The men have a lot to deal with. What are we supposed to be doing while the husbands lead? (The answer is not fight for the leadership spot). The answer is to submit. *gasp* I know! It’s like a dirty word, but don’t turn on me! Stick with me on this one.

The Bible is pretty clear on it.

20140406_124752

Submission is “the action or fact of accepting or yielding to a superior force or to the will or authority of another person” (Oxford dictionary). A few things I’d like you to notice:

submission is an action– it’s not passive. We are told to submit to our husbands, which means that we must actively choose to put ourselves below them and follow their leadership.

submission is not slavery – it’s not a command to our husbands, i.e. “make them submit!” On the contrary, they are called to love us and we are called to honor them.

submission shows respect – we are yielding to his will or authority. When we think of leaders or any other person in a position, we know that we should respect them (like your boss or the president). It’s the same concept with your husband.

He is your leader. Respect him with submission. Let’s stop emasculating and fighting for his spot. Let’s show him respect with our submission (even if the “s” word makes us squirm a little).

Why can submission be a difficult concept to grasp and put into action?

Leave a Reply

