God is good. Say it aloud.

Most days, in my life anyway, things don’t go as I planned. More often than I’d like to admit, I allow this uncertainty, inconsistency, and lack of control to send me into an emotional whirlwind. Part of that might be that I’m a mama to eight month old twins and haven’t regained control of my emotions, but I think it’s more than that.

10881931_10100676631891779_1566496178901788881_n

I enjoy predictability and the illusion of control. So when everything feels like it’s falling apart, when I can’t hold together the pieces or fix the people, my faith is shaken. It’s never demolished or ruined – because God is holding tightly to me. But I can feel myself not trusting. I can feel myself not wanting to glorify Him, but to blame Him. I feel myself being unsure of who He has said that He is, even though I know that He does not lie. All the things that I know in my head need to be transferred to my heart and my emotions need to follow suit. Sometimes…I need to look up every verse that I can find that talks about the goodness of God.

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.” Psalm 107:1

Lord, thank you for being good even when I don’t understand what you’re doing. Thank you for loving me when I’m inconsistent and when I question your goodness. Thank you for being perfect and good every day.

“You sent Your good Spirit to instruct them. You did not withhold Your manna from their mouths, and You gave them water for their thirst.” Nehemiah 9:20

Father, Your good Spirit is here to help me. He instructs me and reminds me of Your perfect goodness. Thank you for filling me with Your good Spirit. Thank you for not withholding good from me.

“For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you.” Psalm 86:5

Lord, You are good. Thank you for your forgiveness. Thank you for loving me lavishly. You overwhelm me with goodness. You forgave me and forgive me and when I sin with my disbelief, you continue to tell me who I am in you. You continue loving me and being good toward me.

“His divine power has given us everything required for life and godliness through the knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.” 2 Peter 1:3

Lord, You’ve given me everything that is required for life and godliness! Your Son has changed me. Your Son has made it so that I can be with You! Praise be to you for who you are! Thank you for Your goodness. Thank you for your abounding, perfect goodness. Remind me of Your goodness. Help me to believe what I know is true about You.

Where do we go for the truth? The Word of God. Who can we trust to tell the truth? The Lord whose Word we are given. Praying the scriptures and reading them aloud can change me. The Lord doesn’t need to be changed. He is perfect holiness and righteousness and goodness. It’s me. I’m the one who needs to be reminded and transformed. I’m the one who needs to be more like Him.

How do you remind yourself of the Truth when it’s difficult to remember the Truth?

Leave a Reply

