a letter to a younger me

Dear younger me,

You are so much like I am now, but completely different at the same time. Your boldness and passion about issues is admirable. At times I wish that I could be that brave. But then again, I don’t. You are selfish. You talk more than you listen. More questions are answered by you than asked. Is that really the person you want to be? Stubborn about the wrong things? Going with the flow without even realizing it?

Oh, 22 year old me, you have so much to learn. You’ll get so much more from your relationships if you put others first. If you would confess your shortcomings instead of trying to look like you have it all together, your boyfriend wouldn’t be so frustrated. Why don’t you want to make things easier for him? For both of you? I know, you don’t want to get married or have kids. But girl, you don’t know what you’re missing out on! So much growth and intimacy happens in marriage. It’s difficult, but you don’t have to be the people that you’ve seen fail. If you follow after Jesus with your husband, so much can happen that you can’t see yet.

^^^^^22 year old me and little sister^^^^^^

Why would you listen to me, though? You have it all together! All those years of Sunday school and youth group have equipped you with just enough Bible knowledge to say the “right” things and sound smart. But is the Bible your foundation? Have you really taken the time to see what it says about your political position, your sexual behavior, your relationships with others? I know you haven’t because I know you. That girl who thought it would be good to be pro-choice – not realizing that being anti-war because of the Bible and pro-choice is ideologically inconsistent – is not who you want to be! The girl whose personal experience has more weight than the Word of God in your decision needs to grow up.

I think that you can do so much more. If the Corinthians can mature in their faith after living like nonbelievers, so can you. That’s what you’ve been doing, but it’s time to grow up. It’s time to have some solid foods. Oh, girl, there’s so much more that will be happening that you can’t even imagine. God is going to blow your mind! He’s going to show you how powerful He is! He’s going to change you in ways that you didn’t even know you needed to be changed.

Younger me, my advice is to hold on tight. Don’t forget how ridiculous you are right now. More importantly, never forget that you were bought with a price and then changed and renewed. It’s okay to be frustrated with how things are sometimes. It’s okay to not be sure what God wants you to do. Seek wise counsel. Surround yourself with people who have studied and researched and who love Jesus so much that it oozes out of their pores. Because that’s who you want to be…not who you are now. Stop repeating the rhetoric. Stop thinking you’re smarter than you are. Start clinging steadfastly to your Savior and then sit back and enjoy the ride.

With love and grace from the one who has lived it,

the older you

One thought on “a letter to a younger me

  1. I liked this a lot. It really resonated with me. I’m going through a transitional period in my life right now and even though I’ve grown a lot, I still have a long ways to go. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

