like a flower.

I need to be constantly reminded of the truth. The gospel of Christ anchors my soul. How do I function when life is crazy? How do I keep from losing my sanity? How do I not live in the guilt of every failure? Jesus. Knowing that He has paid the cost of my sin has changed everything.

Growing up in church, I was a typical good girl until college. When I learned what Christ had done for me even as an adult, I struggled. My thought was that I wasn’t forgivable any longer; if I had known the truth and walked away from it, then it was too late. That was the lie that I believed. What I didn’t know is that Jesus’ work was not dependent on or limited by me. On the contrary, I was dependent on Him. I thought that I was independently living the life that I’d chosen, but now I know the truth.

tree

“For all flesh is like grass, and all its glory like a flower of the grass. The grass withers, and the flower falls, but the word of the Lord endures forever. And this is the word that was preached as the gospel to you” (1 Peter 1:24-25).

Grass and flowers are not permanent. They don’t last through a full year – sometimes even a full season. We do not change our everlasting God. His word endures forever. Christ endures forever. There will never be and there never was a time that He will not or did not exist. Your sin is not too big or your rebellion too far for Him to save.

None of it is dependent on us. The gospel preached to us of imperishable seed through the living word of God that endures forever is this: Jesus did what we could never do. He lived a perfect life. He took the penalty for our sins. And He rose again so that we may live through Him.

Don’t miss this: Jesus did what we could never do. Rest in Him.

Leave a Reply

