why I must tell it to the masses

If you asked my husband how I like to listen to music, he’d tell you that I like to over saturate the air around me with one song. I find a song that I enjoy then play it until it becomes a part of who I am. Music has helped me trust the Lord by reminding me of truth.

True lyrics help me cry out to the Lord in times of suffering and celebration.

A recent conversation led me to begin listening to the band All Sons & Daughters. As the smooth harmonies filled my ears, the third song on their Spotify caught my attention.

And all will sing out Hallelujah. And we will cry out Hallelujah.

I’d heard the song before, but I’d never stopped and listened. So I stopped. I listened. And then I realized that it was not only a song about everyone, but a song about me.

1011936_10100246133508989_339693081_n

All the hearts who are content. And all who feel unworthy. And all who hurt with nothing left. Will know that You are holy.

Am I content? Is that me? Sometimes. The lesson of contentment that Paul learned – in little or much – is one that I relearn regularly. My sin stands in the way and I get caught in the comparison trap. But I’m thankful for the verse that I’ve heard so many times in the last few days that helps me remember.

“The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of who I am the foremost.” 1 Timothy 1:15

I am the worst one. It’s my discontent heart that makes me feel unworthy. It’s the pain of my unholiness that stands so starkly against the holiness of my Heavenly Father that makes me cry out. It’s the undeserved and amazing grace of Jesus that makes me cry out.

And all will sing out Hallelujah. And we will cry out Hallelujah.

It’s His grace – when I’m so aware of my sin and unholiness – that overwhelms my weary soul.

Shout it. Go on and scream it from the mountains. Go on and tell it to the masses. 

That He is God.

His goodness is why I can’t stop. It’s why I won’t stop. God’s sacrifice on my behalf is the life-giving reason why I love this song. He’s the God who turns discontent and unholy and unworthy hearts of stone into hearts of flesh. He’s the reason we will all eventually cry out…

Hallelujah. He is good.

All the Poor and Powerless, by All Sons & Daughters: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieOL4X3nk2c

Leave a Reply

